Project for getting values from a Scale and driving a stepper motor to add powd

Hi,
I am very new in the Arduino world and want to start a project now where the Arduino would get a value (weight) from a small scale and then control a stepper motor to throw more powder onto the scale until the set value is reached.
What hardware would be required (which Arduino). Do I need drivers for the stepper motors.
How do I enter the required weight. Is it possible tp use a phone and Bluetooth or just a pc connected to the Arduino?

Thank you
Kind regards
Michael

Any of the Arduinos will do the job with the appropriate parts .

I’d suggest you buy a genuine UNO and play with it for a while before jumping in .

Get yourself a load cell and HX711 for the weighing and start there .

Hi Hammy,

thank you for the answer.
I already have a scale with RS232 output. Wanted to use that as input for the Arduino.

Is there also a display to connect to show the set value that is required?

The Data that is put out is as per attached picture. Need to get the data values.

Kind regards
Michael

Image from Reply #2 so we don't have to download it. See this Simple Image Posting Guide

...R

You cannot connect an RS232 output directly to an Arduino as the voltage levels are not compatible. You will need a MAX232 to convert to the Arduino's TTL serial voltage levels.

As far as receiving the data is concerned have a look at the second example in Serial Input Basics - simple reliable non-blocking ways to receive data.

You can certainly connect a display to an Arduino but I suggest that you start by displaying the values on the Arduino Serial Monitor.

It would be useful if you can post a diagram to show the proposed mechanical arrangement with the stepper motor. I wonder if a gravity-feed system with a simple means (maybe a servo) to interrupt the flow might be simpler.

...R
Stepper Motor Basics
Simple Stepper Code

Hi Robin,
thank you for all the information and links. It surely helps a lot.