Project: Motion Detector Water Cannon

Hello,

I'm brand new to this world of [Arduino] microcontrollers, but not new to software development and computer networking. The next sentence will seem quite random - my neighbors dogs have a habit of shitting in my yard. This, however, is true, and is the driver behind this project.

I currently have several devices on order that should temporarily but quickly assist in resolving my quandry. I'll be implementing a PIR motion detection system (INSTEON) that [for a short interval] enables a wall outlet where a 24v power transformer will open a water sprinkler valve (solenoid) to multiple high-pressure pop-up sprinkler heads located in the dogs' rest stop.

The long-term solution, which is mostly just an engineering challenge for me, is to develop a system where I can monitor this area via the Internet, be alerted of "the offenders", and control the valve at will via the Internet.

I've seen the Arduino starter kit, but I'd like to dodge that unless it's highly recommended I don't. I'd like to go straight into my project, initially implementing with the following items:

• Arduino Uno
  • Arduino WiFi Shield
  • Parallax PIR sensor
  • TTL JPEG camera
  • Breadboard and wires

Future enhancements to this project will be the integration of an object-tracking system using triangulation (multiple PING))) or PIR sensors), servos and/or DC motors, and replacing the water sprinklers with a focused, high-pressure stream of water.

I'd like to hear thought/comments on my proposed solution. Are the preliminary items sufficient or are there some things I'm overlooking? Anyone know of any current object-tracking sketches?

Thanks!