Project organization and Arduino board for bee-hives monitoring

I'm new about Arduino and also about the electronic world... I'm a software developer.

I need to put in place a project to monitor my bee hives.

I have multiple hives in two different places (one with a distance like 2km and the second with 0.5km distance from my house).

In these places there is no energy power and wifi connection.

To solve the first problem my idea is to use a solar panel + a battery (optimizing the times for the measuring... for example switch on the module for 10minutes for each hour)

To solve the second problem my idea is to use LORA sensors on the module and to use a receiver in my house (where I have Internet with a possibility to upload the measurements on a server for post-processing).

For the first version, the three most important parameters that I would like to monitoring are:

• Temperature (inside the hive);
  • Humidity (inside the hive);
  • Weight of the hive;

For example, in one of my places I have 8 hives. So, I need:

8 temperature and humidity sensors, 8 cells for scales and the LORA sender chip.

As I said, I'm not an electronic expert and this is the first 'serius' project with Arduino.

I have the first base but important question: from your point of view, can I use only one board for each place? Is it enough to connect all sensors (in terms of pins).

My theoretical goal is to use only one Arduino board for each place because, in this way:

• I will be able to reduce the effort in terms of money (to purchase Arduino's boards as also LORA sensors, etc..)
  • I will be able to reduce the used energy instead of using a dedicated battery + solar panel + chip about the charge of the battery... for each board.

The second most important question (but probably related to the previous one) is: what'is the type of Arduino board would you recommend?