project plans

I plan to build a working model of a satalite which will be able to transmit messages and also have sensors to detect things and then relay all data back to view on a screen. Im new to arduino but i do know electronics at a good hobby level so i got the cicuit part covered.my basic plan is to do it in stages as im new to arduino i.e. 1 stage is to tansmit and recive messages and txts 2 stage is to get to learn to use sensors and so on please could you tell me if im going about this in the right way all help is welcome thanks

Sure, why not? Come back and post some details once you have attempted at least stage 1. In order to give any advice about this, you would have to supply a lot more detailed requirements… for example the communications range (but also a lot more).

Everybody should build up in small stages :wink:

E.g.
Your first stage: get communication going.
Your second stage: get a sensor going (and use elementary communication to check).
Your third stage: combine the two.
Back to stage 2 for the next sensor till your project is complete :wink:

Read the tutorial on planning a program in the stickies.

thanks for replying to let me know im going about this the right way. Ive looked at loads of examples and tutorals on each stage that i"ll need the only thing i can see whats going to take most of the time is putting all the code together so that means more reseach on the internet thanks

You have not said how you propose to transmit messages, what they will be sent to or over what distance.

...R
Planning and Implementing a Program

i plan to use radio and by mobile also wifi to transmit to another setup which i will be able to see results i also plan to fit a camara to receive vidieo and photos. at the moment im only planning it out i have most electronic components.just need to get a few more things.

It'd be way easier if you reversed the steps.