Project - Radio Controlled Car Using Accelerometer As Controller

Hi,

Im an amateur Arduino user. I have completed one project using an Arduino Uno previously. This was to control a DC motor to raise and lower a chicken coop hatch. I got it all working and now Im working on a new project.

I want to design & build a radio controlled car that can be used by disabled children with limited physical mobility. Because these children might not be able to use a normal RC car controller, I want to design & build a controller that incorporates sensors to detect the limited movement of the child and send this data wirelessly to the car where it will produce movement and/or steering.

My initial plan is to use an accelerometer to detect the limited movment. The acceleromter would be attached to a low voltage power source and a RF transmitter. I might also use some signal conditioning hardware. These components will make up the controller that the child will wear.

On the car chassis I intend to house an arduino board, a RF receiver, two motors, maybe a gearbox, (probably RC car servo motors) and a low voltage power source.

I'm now thinking that maybe now I need a 2nd arduino board in the controller. I have researched wireless control using arduino and saw that you can get wireless shields and modules sech as Xbee to communicate wirelessly between two arduinos. Im not sure however what is the cheapest and best way to get my controller to communicate to the car wirelessly. Some questions I have:

1. Could I just send the accelerometer data from the transmitter without having to use an arduino board?

2. Is using an arduino wireless shield and an Xbee module the cheapest and easiest way to achieve wireless communication?

3. If I want forward, reverse and steering capabilities in the car, I would want more than one channel on the transmitter and receiver. Does the Xbee module allow more than one channel?