Project RC Robot car shopping list, hints and pointers appreciated.

Hi all,

My oldest son was bugging me to build a robot and I'm pretty good with discrete components so I've build him a line folowing robot with two LDR's and a comperator cirquit.

But that wasn't what he ment. ;D

I have some experience with copying Arduino projects, but none building one of my own. I thought building a 1 on 1 copy and then taking a stab at adding more stuff.

So being a good dad I ordered some stuff and was curious if I have everything covered. So If you have an addendum, please point it out.

-Build platform, I have some copper clad FR4 PCB material left.
-2x geared high torq motors 5-27V DC

• Arduino uno
  • L298p r3 2A Arduino uno motor shield
  • HC-05 BlueTooth master/slave
  • ESP8266 ESP12E module
  • SX1276
  • 868 helical antenna
  • HC-SR4
  • 4S Li-Ion protection board
  • 16850 battery holder
  • 16,8V Li-Ion charger
  • 12mm brass Hex motor to wheel couplers
  • DC power plug
  • FR4 prototype bord (I don't like breadboard)
  • 2,54mm stackable headers

Still things to order:

• RC ofroad 1:10 wheels
  • "third" swiflewheel
  • 18650 Li-Ion cels

At first I'm planning for a basic smartphone controlled RC car robot. For Android there is an app "Arduino Bluetooth RC car" that cuts the mustard. But for IOS I found GoBLE Bluetooth 4.0 Controller, wich isn't that elaborate as the Android equivalent.
And as my son has an IOS phone/tablet, I'm still looking for a more elaborate app that not only get it to move around. But also can sound the horn and switch on/off lights, so when anyone can mention one?

Helpfull "have you looked at this" links are appreciated. :slight_smile:

PD0RBO:
… Helpfull “have you looked at this” links are appreciated. :slight_smile:

Have you looked at this?

Lots of ideas in there, mostly incomplete/not exactly what you want, but very hackable.