Project starter kit advice

I am a beginner with Arduino and would like advice on a starter kit and other hardware for a pet feeder project. I would like to use Arduino to read a real time clock and then activate a servo motor to turn the shaft on a cereal dispenser to dispense cat food at two specific times of the day. Advice on what starter kit to purchase along with other parts would be much appreciated. Thank you.

I got mine from Sparkfun, you should be able to find one here as well as Adafruit, I have stuck with major vendors not liking Ebay etc. Most seem to be the same, some come with printed instructions, others require you to download the instructions. The kit probably has a UNO or a clone and a handful of parts, lights, resistors, small motor and servo etc.

You will need a real time clock module.

that will get you started and going.

For the dispenser you will probably need a decent sized servo or motor, but the size depends on how much power it takes to drive the feed dispenser and it will take a bit of research on the motor/servo size. An outside power supply and or driver board to match the size of the motor/servo

Good luck

Hi,

DISCLAIMER: Mentioning stuff from my own shop...!

THIS STARTER KIT has both a servo and a stepper motor so you can learn about those and many other sensors etc.

You can check out all the how-to for this kit online HERE.

Looks like this:

We make a couple thousand of these a year that are used by schools and universities, makerspaces and hobbyists. Every entering EE and CS student at Uconn starts with this kit, for example.

For a somewhat different Cat Feeder example see THIS.

See THIS DISCUSSION about wether you need an RTC module.

The starter kits will not contain motors etc of sufficient size for the actual project but I would recommend that you do get one as it will teach you most of what you need to know for your “real” project. Most kits will have a miniature DC motor and a servo some will have a stepper motor.