Project stopped working

I have a project that started on an Arduino, moved to breadboard, then to custom PCB. Everything worked great, for a few weeks, then the custom board stopped working. I should note that I'm very new to electronics, I'm more of a programmer. I have measured with a mult-meter and power is going where it should go. I have hooked up a logic probe to the FTDI cable and see DTX raise, RXI transmits 3 pulses, then nothing. As far as I know I do not have a way to test the capacitors or crystal. Can anyone give me any tips or pointers on how to diagnose what has failed?

I should note, I forgot to put on the caps that regulate the power when I connected the board to the brick I was using. No excuse for that, all I can say is I was verifying the board worked while connected to the USB cable (via the FTDI cable), and got carried away. (There are even holes and traces for them on the custom PCB!) I have no idea if that caused the failure of the board.

Any help on how to diagnose is greatly appreciated!

Chad

Any help on how to diagnose is greatly appreciated!

Try checking the value of the resistor and make sure that your transistor is not encabulating.

OK, just pulling your leg ;) Can't really help you out unless you post a schematic (and preferably a layout too) of your custom board.

-- The Ruggeduino: compatible with Arduino UNO, 24V operation, all I/O's fused and protected

Just to make sure, if your custom board is using an external power supply of more than 7-9V, then check that there is no heat damage done to the circuit of the main chip.

Im doubtful that the problem is due to the capacitor or the oscillator as these things are build to last.

Also please specify more details about the board so that it would be easier to assist you.

Hope this Helps! :)

@RuggedCircuits
LOLz… 8) :stuck_out_tongue:

mehtaatur - How do you check for heat damage?