Project to keep a buoy on water by gps at its exact location

I’m a beginner with arduino and electronics in general but I’m fascinated about the whole thing here.
To go into practice I made my own plant watering system on the simple base you can find here and by Ggl. (Nano, moisture sensor, relay, pump). New in this forum I hope to be in the right section for my questions.

Spinning around in my head: I would know if you guys see a chance to make the following prototype: The environment will be on a lake with mostly flat water but it can be windy. Think of a small man-over-board-buoy. Once its position is set the buoy keeps automatically this position and makes wind-drift corrections itself.

Classic, manual solution:

• Small cubic foam buoy, 10/10/10 cm or max. 15/15/15 cm which is swimming on water
  • Cord and anchor at the ground to keep it at its predefined position

With Arduino logic and some small hardware

• Arduino nano, micro or something small and cheap
  • GPS sensor for knowing the position and calculating the corrections
  • Motors with function of a sort of jet or simple propeller drive
  • Solar powered, needs running for at least 4 days

The logic should calculate the actual position by GPS. Compared to the predefined position by coordinates we know about the direction the buoy has to be moved. 2 Motors (each axis) able to run for-/backwards so that the buoy can be drived on the water to its location.

Questions

• What will be the best GPS accuracy today? It should keep the buoy in a radius of ~20 cm. Or is there any other technique to get in exact position?
  • What about motors? Anything on market for moving water through a ~ ø 3 cm pipe like a miniature jet ski engine, through a pipe?
  • What if I need at the end 1120 such buoys, each on a different position? You are right, it’s a 6 lanes rowing course (2000 m * 7 lanes * each 12.5 m a buoy).

Cheers.