Project too big for Arduino?

Hello all,

I heard about Arduino from a co-worker and thought it would be perfect for me. I am an engineer by trade and love to tinker. I got the Arduino super starter kit and am loving it so far.

My next project I'm working on will be controlling water flow. I am going to need to control 4 solenoid valves, 3 water pumps (small dc motors) and a Water PH sensor. I have a Elegoo Uno R3 board, but am concerned I will not have enough I/O for this project. What do you guys think would be the easiest solution?

thunter7891:
Hello all,

I heard about Arduino from a co-worker and thought it would be perfect for me. I am an engineer by trade and love to tinker. I got the Arduino super starter kit and am loving it so far.

My next project I'm working on will be controlling water flow. I am going to need to control 4 solenoid valves, 3 water pumps (small dc motors) and a Water PH sensor. I have a Elegoo Uno R3 board, but am concerned I will not have enough I/O for this project. What do you guys think would be the easiest solution?

easier, MEGA
but I count 7 outputs and 1 input, not near the max of an UNO.

Perfect, I'm looking at my board now and I will be able to control this project with my UNO board after all. Thank you very much for the clarification, Dave!

Remember the Arduino can’t drive those solenoids or motors directly!
You’ll need h-bridges or transistors as ‘drivers’ to handle the higher voltage/power needed for the devices.

Also note that the pins A0 to A5 can also be used as regular digital pins.

And keep pins 0 and 1 free as they are used for uploading code and sending debug messages to the PC.

…R

thunter7891:
Hello all,

I think that you can run the solenoids and motors with one or more motor driver boards and only need 1 pin for each. But you also need sensors/limit switches?

You can use shift registers as "pin multipliers". SPI can feed/read them at 512KB/s default speed.