Projector Control

Hello,

I am new to this and I want some advice with how you would create a wall mounted control box for turning on a off a data projector. Any advice is appreciated. The projector would be located in a large meeting area and the remote signal is to weak to reach the project and people also like to walk off with remote so that is what is making me want to build this control box with Arduino hardware.

Thanks in advance.

So, what do you want? Do you want a different kind of wireless remote, or do you want a wired remote so nobody can walk off with the transmitter?

If you want a wired remote on/off switch you shouldn't need an Adruino. All you need is a switch wired in-line with the power. Something like [u]this[/u] or you could put a regular wall-outlet and wall-switch into an electrical box with a plug-in cord (a box that normally gets mounted in the wall). Or a switch in one box and an outlet in another, etc.

If turning in & off the AC power doesn't work with this projector, you might have to "hack into" it and wire a relay across the on/off switch. Then you can control the relay with another switch. Y(u can get relays with line voltage coils, or lower-voltage coils that would require a transformer or power supply, but would be "safer".)

DVDdoug thanks for the reply. What I was thinking was to use the r232 control port in the project. I could always buy something from creston for $$$ but I was thinking something could be done with arguing for much less and would be fun and a great learning experience. I hope that explain what I am wanting a little better.

You can use a IR repeater, that would sit midway between you and the projector. Upon receiving any code from the remote control on a IR Sensor, it would simply repeat (relay) the same code (through a IR Led) towards the projector.