Property line '

Hi everybody!

I'm new in Arduino programming

I installed 1.6.8 release in windows and in Linux Ubuntu, but if I try to compile an example project I obtain this message:

Arduino:1.6.8 (Linux), Scheda:"Arduino/Genuino Uno"

Property line '

Why this behaviour ? How can I fix it?

Thank you very much

I am using 1.6.7 in Linux Mint which is based on Ubuntu and don't see that problem.

There have been frequent posts here that the last "good" release of the IDE was 1.6.5

giamby3000:
Property line '

This error indicates there is some bad data in the library.properties file included with one of your libraries. Unfortunately the bad data seems to be be breaking the full output of the error which should tell you which library has the problem. Chances are that it's not one of the official Arduino libraries causing the problem. You can verify this by temporarily changing File > Properties > Sketchbook location: to a different folder, then try to compile. If this solves the problem then you would need to open the library.properties file in each folder under your original {sketchbook folder}/libraries folder. Look for any extra line other than the standard content as shown in the library.properties File Format section of Home · arduino/Arduino Wiki · GitHub

library.properties file format

The library.properties file is a key=value properties list. Every field in this file is UTF-8 encoded. The available fields are:

name - the name of the library
version - version of the library. Version should be semver compliant. 1.2.0 is correct; 1.2 is accepted; r5, 003, 1.1c are invalid
author - name/nickname of the authors and their email addresses (not mandatory) separated by comma ","
maintainer - name and email of the maintainer
sentence - a sentence explaining the purpose of the library
paragraph - a longer description of the library. The value of sentence always will be prepended, so you should start by writing the second sentence here