Proportional Only Control /Stepper/Potentiometer

I'm needing some guidance. I've got a project driven by stepper motors, they must be controlled via feedback from potentiometers located at the main joints. It has been recommended to me to use proportional only control to alter the speed of the stepper, due to the arms structure integral and derivative probably won't be needed. The stepper movement should stop when the potentiometer feedback equals the set point.

I've been unable to find any examples online or in any books to help me with this. All examples online always use the PID library, but I just want to use proportional control code only.

Any help would be appreciated. I'm new to programming in general and want to learn how to code with the arduino. Thanks.

Think about what proportional control means for just a minute. You don't need any library for that. You need one or two lines of math.

error = setpoint - actual;

output = error * someFactor;

Or use PID with the I and D terms set to zero.

+1 for the simple approach proposed by @Delta_G

And it has the advantage that you can easily find out if it is sufficient before getting embroiled in any library

...R

Okay had a think about it, think this is on the right lines. Thanks for the help.
Using a Unipolar stepper, in this setup from;

const int ActualValue1 = A0; // Potentiometer
const int Threshold1 = 500; // setpoint for the potentiometer position
int Pin1 =8;
int Pin2 =9;
int Pin3 =10;
int Pin4 =11;
int Kp =1; // gain for the proportional control
int error = (threshold1 - ActualValue1); // this is to gain the error value
int drive = error*Kp // this is to calculate the drive value of the proportional control

Void setup

Serial.begin(9600); // communication between Arduino & PC
pinMode(Pin1, OUTPUT);
pinMode(Pin2, OUTPUT);
pinMode(Pin3, OUTPUT);
pinMode(Pin4, OUTPUT);

Void loop

int error =(Threshold1-ActualValue1);
int drive = (int error*int Kp);
AnalogWrite() = (Pin1,Pin2,Pin3,Pin4);