Protecting my LED Light Strip

Hi,

Hopefully this is the right type of place to post this.

I followed this instructional video to make a Home Assistant controllable light strip: The BEST Digital LED Strip Light Tutorial - DIY, WIFI-Controllable via ESP, MQTT, and Home Assistant - YouTube

I'm new to this sort of thing so I found it quite tricky but I got it to work eventually and it looks great.

It's wired as per this diagram.

I purchased an LED strip IP67 rated but it turns out it's not because it's shorter strips soldered together and the solder joining the strips is exposed on the rear.

I have the strip mounted outside which is completely exposed to the elements. I've tried to use a decent amount of glue around the parts that are exposed to seal it and I've sealed the 12v wire to the strip as best I can but it's not perfect and could also degrade in the weather. The strip is powered by a 240-12v 5A power adapter which is plugged in inside.

Is there a risk that if water got into the circuit and it short circuited that a fire could start at the power adapter? I'm hoping it would just stop working and I could replace it but even the possibility makes me nervous.

I was thinking of installing a fuse near the adaptor on the 12v side. How would I calculate the fuse size and is this something that would help?

Thanks

Adam

Water proof:
That's always pretty hard. See "water proof" as splash proof. If it's protected from direct water it should be fine.

Sealing:
did you try heat shrink (maybe even the kind with glue in it)?

Fire:
Might be, you have 100W of power.

Fuse:
You pick a size determined by the normal load. So what is the normal max load? Aka, what strip, length and do you use full brightness?
You should have done this in the first place to pick a proper power supply :wink:

And I would turn off the 12V to the strip if you don't need it to be lid. Can be done with a mosfet. Again, you need to know the current.