Proximity Sensor controlling Stepper?

Conundrum - Help needed (for a gallery installation). I am an enthusiastic coding novice. I have tried for over a week to get a stepper motor to turn one direction (+1/2 revolution) then reverse (-1/2 revolution from zero) based on 2 IR distance sensor input. Basically I have fixed an arrow to the top of a stepper motor and want it to point in the direction where an object is closest to one of the sensors (facing left and right). Say if an object was 50cm away from sensor one and the other sensor detected nothing or a distance further away than that, the motor would turn that direction. I have tried several convoluted codes but can anyone help me out? I have an EasyDriver motor controller, and a simple Stepper + 2 IR Sharp sensors. (I hope I'm explaining myself - apologies if not)...

Are you able to read distances with the IR distance sensors?

Get one sensor working.. declare any variables you think you might need for a sensor. In setup(), do anything you need to start things going. Remember... just one sensor. Also in setup, start your Serial, so you can see what's happening.

In loop() ping the sensor, then use the techniques from the Arduino example sketch Blink Without Delay to delay half a second or so, then ping again, and so on. Right after the ping, use Serial.println() to send the value to the Serial Monitor on the PC.

Got it all working? Good. Do the same with the other sensor.

Now that they are both working, attach a servo, and get that working. To test, use the Serial Monitor to send characters, and Serial.available() and Serial.read90, to get them in the Arduino. Check for a character 'r' or 'l'. When you get one of those, and within an if (character == 'r') block, tell the servo to move clockwise, and within the if (character == 'l') block, tell it to move counterclockwise. If you guess wrong, just reverse the 'r' and 'l' in the if blocks.