ps2 mouse example, help understanding

Hello,

I'm confused how the ps2 mouse example works using only two pins. (Perhaps because I'm really a beginner..) I thought that a pin could only be used for input or output, not bidirectionally... As they obviously can, what do i need to do to use them this way (ex: make sure the pins are low before i try to read)

Any help anyone can give me would be great (especially cause it would cut in half pins for the project i'd like to work on)

Thanks, Cosis

the example: http://www.arduino.cc/playground/uploads/ComponentLib/mouse.txt

A mouse is a write-only device - the host doesn’t talk to the mouse, the mouse just sends data to the host. The only reason it needs two wires is that PS/2 has a clock line. One way communication is simpler that bidirectional.

It is possible to use a single wire for bidirectional communications (and power, too); see Dallas 1-Wire. It’s a fair amount of work, IMO, compared to methods that use more wires.

It’s also possible to put multiple devices on a bus, like I2C, SPI, RS485, etc. This saves pins/wires.

-j

How then does it include both mouse_read and mouse_write functions?

Also, my question wasn’t about the ps/2 protocol (there are very easy references for that. the ps/2 protocol IS bidirectional, as is i2c, and many other protocols.), but rather about how arduino was able to use one pin as both the input and the output.

Any help on that point is much appreciated.

just as proof that it does both read and write, here is a section of the mouse_init() function:

// Serial.print(“Sending reset to mouse\n”);
mouse_write(0xff);
mouse_read(); /* ack byte /
// Serial.print(“Read ack byte1\n”);
mouse_read(); /
blank /
mouse_read(); /
blank /
// Serial.print(“Sending remote mode code\n”);
mouse_write(0xf0); /
remote mode /
mouse_read(); /
ack */

in the file you linked:

void gohi(int pin)
{
  pinMode(pin, INPUT);
  digitalWrite(pin, HIGH);
}

void golo(int pin)
{
  pinMode(pin, OUTPUT);