PSU issue

Hello all

I'm quite new to all this, so I may have missed something obvious.

I am building a project that uses a standard voltage divider.

The problem I am having is that when I have the project powered from my laptop via the USB port it measures correctly. But when I power it from a PSU (USB or 9V) it measures about 400mv low. I've tried several different (3xUSB, 1x9V) PSUs including a PSU from my Raspberry Pi project.

Any comments would be most appreciated.

Regards

Fred

(deleted)

Hi Drew

Laptop 5.02 Pi1 5.05 Pi2 5.01 Blitzwolf 4.90 9V 4.95

This is measuring the 5V pin on the Uno.

All external PSUs measure the divider at around 400mv low. The laptop measures correctly.

I'm wondering if there is to much ripple on the external PSUs.

Regards

Fred

Take a look at this : https://www.arduino.cc/en/Reference/AnalogReference , use one of the internal reference for the board that you are using, and change the voltage divider to suit the new value.

Cheers, Ale.

Hi Ale

I'm obviously missing something here. I've looked at the AnalogReference stuff. I can't seem to work out how it is implemented. So I gave up on it.

Besides that, I don't think it is my actual problem given the actual voltages I am getting on the 5V pin from the various external PSUs.

After all, I'm simply measuring the battery voltage of an offline 12V power system. Its not complicated. And the divider is a standard 30K and 7k5.

I'm going to see if I can borrow a decent scope so I can investigate things further.

Regards

Fred

derfz:
Hi Ale

I’m obviously missing something here. I’ve looked at the AnalogReference stuff. I can’t seem to work out how it is implemented. So I gave up on it.

Very strange, I can’t see so much differences in using a different reference.

derfz:
Besides that, I don’t think it is my actual problem given the actual voltages I am getting on the 5V pin from the various external PSUs.