pulseIn() perplexed.

So I am looking for a little guidance.. a little background: Sophomore EE student.. pretty bright, but I am a novice at programming. I have been trying to begin a project where I can use the Arduino to receive a frequency input. Not fast.. just 5V square wave.. probably no more than 100-200 Hz. Then I want to alter this frequency and send it back out on an output pin to drive a load.

I want to be able to adjust the frequency and pulse-width of the incoming pulse train, and then use the altered to drive the load.

So.. I've read up on the pulseIn() function and I am trying to utilize it to accomplish this. Read into the freqCounter library too.. but I can't find alot of good examples that I am able to digest mentally as the scope of my programming experience is limited.

I've tried working on some code using pulseIn(), but it has been a total flop.. I posted up some code a couple of days ago that doesn't even make sense to me now. Working and going to school full-time, and trying to experiment and code late at night works out great sometimes.. (if you don't realize the sarcasm.. I am injecting it now!)

So, anyways I have some code here that I think should work.. but doesn't. All I am trying to accomplish at this point is to create a faithful reproduction on an input signal. I've got a 5V p-p square wave going in on pin 7, and then I am attempting to use pulseIn() to read the high and low times and then use that to time a digitalWrite() function to send a pulse train out on pin 6.. but via my oscilloscope I am reading diddly on pin 6.

int frequencyOUT =  6;     
int frequencyIN = 7;
unsigned long durationHIGH;
unsigned long durationLOW;

void setup() 
{

pinMode(frequencyIN, INPUT);
  pinMode(frequencyOUT, OUTPUT);
  Serial.begin(115200);      
}

void loop()
{

durationHIGH = pulseIn(frequencyIN, HIGH);
  durationLOW = pulseIn(frequencyIN, LOW);

digitalWrite(frequencyOUT, HIGH);
  delay(durationHIGH);

digitalWrite(frequencyOUT, LOW);