Pulsing 2 leds at specefic intervals for stroboscopic effect

Hey.

So im trying to make a differential stroboscope. I wrote a code based on a research paper i saw on google, but the thing is, I dont know what to expect from it. I am an not an avid coder, so its quite hard for me. but i did my best. I dont have an oscilloscope to test things out, and its gonna be a few more days till i get my hands on the hardware of this project. This is what im actually trying to do.

#include <avdweb_AnalogReadFast.h>
#include <digitalWriteFast.h>
//basic libraries for faster read and write
#define greenPulse 5
#define redPulse 6
#define potentiometer 3
#define switchUp 7
#define switchDown 8
//the libraries prefers the pins to be defined.

int minimum_Time_Between_Pulse = 1;
//An upper and lower limit so the potentiometer value can be mapped.Not sure if it can be done without.
int maximum_Time_Between_Pulse = 50;

int pulseDuration=50;//the duration of the time the led stayes on
int timeBetweenPulse;
//variables
int timeBetweenPulseActual;

void setup()
{
pinModeFast(greenPulse, OUTPUT);
pinModeFast(redPulse, OUTPUT);//as simple as that. or is it?
pinModeFast(potentiometer, INPUT);
pinMode(switchUp, INPUT_PULLUP);//didnt find a pullup function in library
pinMode(switchDown, INPUT_PULLUP);

}

void loop()
{
timeBetweenPulse = map(analogRead(potentiometer), 0, 1024,minimum_Time_Between_Pulse, maximum_Time_Between_Pulse);// Map the potentiometer value.
timeBetweenPulseActual = timeBetweenPulse;// timeBetweenPulse is from the potentiometer, so it seems like a constant to me, which probably isnt tweakable while the pot is connected
while(switchUp == LOW && timeBetweenPulseActual <= maximum_Time_Between_Pulse)// increase the pulse time while the button is pressed
{
  ++timeBetweenPulseActual;//increase
}
while(switchDown == LOW && timeBetweenPulseActual >= minimum_Time_Between_Pulse)//same as before, to decrease
{
  --timeBetweenPulseActual;
}