Pulsing rgb LED's to the beat of music

Ok so I want to be able to plug in some sort of mp3 device like an ipod into an arduino, have the arduino read the music's beat frequency, and depending on what frequency the beat is playing at i want the LED's to turn certain colors. So basicly, the lights will flash a certain color to the beat of the music depending on the tone (frequency)the music is playing at. I dont really know where to start this except that I know i'll need an arduino, some RAM to process all of that info since i read somewhere that the arduino is slow at doing this, an ipod, some LEDs, and some sort of input jack to connect the ipod into the arduino. I have basic knowledge of C++ and have written some programs but I haven't made anything Physically interact with the software.

If anyone can point me into the right direction as far as components that i will need and some ideas on how to go about completing this project, it would be awesome.

Thank you in advance.

I think someone did this fairly recently. Try searching for FFT (which will give you the frequencies). Example search:

arduino fft led

ok so i found this. Do you think this could help me achieve my project?

http://www.bliptronics.com/item.aspx?ItemID=116

It might. I found about 12,700,000 results for that search. Some of them must work. Some may not need extra hardware apart from some way of getting the sound into your Arduino.

I don't believe the Arduino ADC is fast enough for full-range (20-20khz) FFT...

But, it is plenty fast-enough if you do the frequency-filtering first, and it just has to read & process the voltage (volume) for each frequency-band.

You could build frequency-filters (bandpass filters) and peak-detectors with op-amps, but I think the simplest approach would be [u]this chip[/u] which gives you outputs for a 7-band spectrum analyzer. If you want, you can just use 3 of the bands and connect the output to 3 of Arduino's analog inputs.