Push button options

Hey everybody,

I'm willing to set up a project in which a push button would recognize two different kinds of pushes by the length of pressing on it so that it would be useful for Morse code. I'm new to Arduino so I haven't seen any solution to this. Ideas anyone?

If you are new to Arduino then by definition you have not seen any solution for anything. Keep looking! What you want is perfectly possible and there will be lots of examples out there. The functions you need to be looking for are digitalRead() and millis(). Also look for examples which deal with "state change" and "switch debouncing".

I'm glad you are willing. You should first work through some beginner lessons. It won't take long before you figure out for yourself how to make this project. Come back when you've tried and get stuck. You won't understand or learn anything if someone were to start talking code now.

guyg: Hey everybody,

I'm willing to set up a project in which a push button would recognize two different kinds of pushes by the length of pressing on it so that it would be useful for Morse code. I'm new to Arduino so I haven't seen any solution to this. Ideas anyone?

I know. How about a button which, if pressed for a short time, sends a dot, and for a long time, sends a dash... wait a minute... that is what a Morse key does. :)

aarg: I know. How about a button which, if pressed for a short time, sends a dot, and for a long time, sends a dash... wait a minute... that is what a Morse key does. :)

Yep, that's the idea and the pressing time right now is the mystery.

And now for a more focused question - Can I call the millis() function as an interrupt?

Try it.

guyg: Yep, that's the idea and the pressing time right now is the mystery.

And now for a more focused question - Can I call the millis() function as an interrupt?