Push button to toggle display output not working

Hi all,
I am relatively new to arduino/programming. I am building a chicken egg incubator with an arduino as the controller and am having a problem with a push button. I have a 16 x2 lcd screen and am trying to use a push button to toggle through several potential message displays on the screen.

It is supposed to work like this: I have a variable “displaynumber” that starts at one, each time through the loop, the arduino reads the push button pin and if it is high, it is supposed to add 1 to the displaynumber variable. The displaynumber can get as high as 3 before it resets to 1. Depending on what the displaynumber is, the output to the LCD screen changes.

The momentary on pushbutton has one end wired to +5v on the arduino, and the other end wired to digital pin 6.

With a multimeter I confirmed that there is normally no continuity between the two pins of the pushbutton, and is continuity when pushed, so I don’t think it is an issue with the button itself. I also confirmed that with the button pushed, there is +5v between pin 6 on the arduino, and ground on the arduino. I have made sure to push the button for a long period of time to account for the 2 second delay at the end of the code.

I’m not sure what to troubleshoot next…any ideas?

Thanks!

// Incubator code 4/7/18
// ---------------------------------------------
#include <LiquidCrystal.h>
#include <DHT.h>
//#include <Servo.h>
#define DHTPIN 1                  // Define the temp sensor data pin
#define DHTTYPE DHT22             // define the temp/hum sensor type
#define RELAY 7                  // define the relay control pin - Pin 7                        
//#define SERVO (insert pin here!!!)
DHT dht(DHTPIN, DHTTYPE);         //initialize the temp sensor
//Servo servo;                      //initialize the servo

// LCD Connections:
// rs (LCD pin 4) to Arduino pin 12
// rw (LCD pin 5) to Arduino pin 11
// enable (LCD pin 6) to Arduino pin 10