Push Buttons not working as expected to toggle RGB LED on and off.

I am new to Arduino programming and tried a few of the tutorial examples on the net with success. So I decided to be adventurous and do the following:

4 push buttons that would each toggle a single RGB LED to be red, green, blue or purple. A second toggle of any one button is supposed to switch off the LED.

Here is my code (not used C++ so my code is probably not as concise as it could be…I’ll work on it XD):

int redPin = 11;
int greenPin = 10;
int bluePin = 9;
int redButtonPin = 8;
int greenButtonPin = 7;
int blueButtonPin = 6;
int purpleButtonPin = 5;
bool redON = false;
bool greenON = false;
bool blueON = false;
bool purpleON = false;

void setup()
{
  pinMode(redPin, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(greenPin, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(bluePin, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(redButtonPin, INPUT);
  pinMode(greenButtonPin, INPUT);
  pinMode(blueButtonPin, INPUT);
  pinMode(purpleButtonPin, INPUT);
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop() {
//  int buttonPressed;
  if (digitalRead(greenButtonPin) == HIGH) {
    if (greenON == true) {
      greenON = false;
      setColor(0,0,0);
    } else {
      greenON = true;
      Serial.println("green on");
      setColor(0,255,0);
    }
    redON = false;
    blueON = false;
    purpleON = false;
  }
  if (digitalRead(blueButtonPin) == HIGH) {
    if (blueON == true) {
      blueON = false;
      setColor(0,0,0);
    } else {
      blueON = true;
      Serial.println("blue on");
      setColor(0,0,255);
    }
    greenON = false;
    redON = false;
    purpleON = false;
  }
  if (digitalRead(purpleButtonPin) == HIGH) {
    if (purpleON == true) {
      purpleON = false;
      setColor(0,0,0);
    } else {
      purpleON = true;
      Serial.println("purple on");
      setColor(255,0,255);
    }
    greenON = false;
    blueON = false;
    redON = false;
  }
  if (digitalRead(redButtonPin) == HIGH) {
    if (redON == true) {
      redON = false;
      setColor(0,0,0);
    } else {