Pushbutton Dillema

Hi all,

I have an issue i can't seem to figure out.
I am just starting out with everything so give me a break.

its a little tricky to understand but hopefully i can explain..

i have a loop sequence which contains 3 loops within it. 1,2,3.
before loop 1 there is a "button read" loop. so you could say there is a 4th. we will call it button limbo. button limbo is where the loop continuously reads the state of the button and waits for a button HIGH to enter the 3 loop sequence.

i have already coded the loops to flow from 1-2-3 with the push of a button and then once loop 3 is finished it goes back to reading the button in button limbo.

basically i would like a pushbutton to start my 3 loop sequence from loop 1 on its rising edge.
during any of the 3 loops i want to be able to press the button again and it will jump back to the beginning of my 1st loop in the sequence and start the 3 loop sequence again from no. 1. thru to 3.

i have tried adding digitalRead for the button into each loop and so i can start the loop again and again every time i press the button and it works perfectly..
BUT
when i hold the button down it starts loop 1 but then it jumps back to the button limbo and starts loop 1 again and then jumps back to limbo etc.
this is because loop 1 is told if the button reads high to start loop1 again, so it does and it gets stuck in a continuous loop of its own.

i want to be able to press the button and it will start the sequence and hold the button and it won't affect the sequence and it will finish the 3 loop sequence or until i press the button again for it to repeat. etc

basically i want the pushbutton only to start the loop on the rising edge and do nothing at all if it is held down from that first press. until it is pressed again and repeated. etc.

i have been thinking about this for days and my hair is falling out.