pushbutton global reset, without CPU reset

OK, newbie here... please bear with me... searched, and can't find a clear solution

My application goes through several "user setup" screens (40x4 LCD, rotary encoder w/button, and 2 other user buttons), and at any point if the user see's that he's input wrong data, I want to have a "restart" button that will (in essence) "goto" the main program loop... a restart, but without going through all my declarations and setup() sections again, which include onscreen "power-on" message screens, etc.

I know "goto" is to be avoided at ALMOST any cost... or so I read.

I've given up on arduino interrupts for this purpose/project, and the total places in the code where I need to "go look" at the status of this "restart" button are few... maybe 4-5 in total.

(Why hast thou given up on thy glorious Interrupts?? I need button debouncing (and verified "release" before 'doing') and other timers to continue working, along with the fact I use a large LCD, the ISR could happen during an LCD write, and if I try to jump/goto some place that prevents the LCD from properly writing, I could (and have) end up with an onscreen mess.... re-entrant issues.)

Thoughts? ...and thanks!

I know "goto" is to be avoided at ALMOST any cost... or so I read.

Thou must not use goto. :wink:

My application goes through several "user setup" screens (40x4 LCD, rotary encoder w/button, and 2 other user buttons), and at any point if the user see's that he's input wrong data, I want to have a "restart" button that will (in essence) "goto" the main program loop.

A state machine is called for here. You have a series of questions, if they want to "restart" you go back to state 1.

This is getting to be my "hobby horse", but interrupts are a nasty distraction to "newbie" programmers. Interrupts can be - and should almost always be - completely ignored and left to the ambit of certain library routines such as those for keeping time.