Pushbuttons are not recognised

hi there., i am just a beginner at arduino. i was trying to run a motor in two directions after reading two pushbutton status. my code below however returns only the IDLE string on the serial monitor. The wirings are correct and the pushbutton isn't faulty. when pressed the multimeter reads 0V (when wired to ground). but the arduino seems to be in some kind of loop. any idea mates??

void loop()
{
  int up=4;
  int down=5;
  pinMode(up, INPUT);
  pinMode(down, INPUT);
digitalRead(up); 
digitalRead(down);

if(up==LOW)
{motor(1);}

else if(down==LOW)
{motor(2);}

else(Serial.println(IDLE");)
}

oh and the motor() function is correct too.. i replaced it with a simple led and it still didnt work

Hi and welcome,

is this your complete code? Please post the entire code incl. variable declarations, setup() etc. -> not only the loop() code. And: pinMode is no command for being used in a loop ... (this belongs to setup() ).

And: let us know something about hardware: - how are your buttons wired to the Arduino (do you use the internal pullup resistors or external ones?)? - what kind of motor is it (stepper, DC, brushless DC, ...) ? - what driver are you using for driving the motor? - did you already have the motor run in a simple, proven test sketch? - what voltage do you use for the motor / motor driver?

Only then we can assist you and point you to the issues.

Ok.. so here's the detailed code.. I have made some corrections too...

const int motor_1 = 13;
const int motor_2 = 12;
const int up=4;
const int down=5;

void setup() {

pinMode(motor_1, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(motor_2, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(up, INPUT);
  pinMode(down, INPUT);

Serial.begin(9600);
}
void loop()
{
  digitalRead(up); ;
  digitalRead(down);
     if(up==LOW)
      {motor(1);}
     else if(down==LOW)
      {motor(2);}
     else 
      {Serial.println("IDLE"); delay(50);}
}

void motor(int x)
{ 
  if(x==1)
  {
      digitalWrite(motor_1,LOW);
      digitalWrite(motor_2,HIGH);