Puzzle lock with Arduino

Newbie question here.

I am building a kind of puzzle lock for "exit room". The lock works so that there are 10 bare wire ends and user needs to combine them into 5 pairs to open the electric lock. Red to green etc. Lock should not open when all the wires are connected in bunch nor for any other combination.

At the moment I have it working with voltage window comparator circuit. Hooking up the wires in pairs creates a loop with specific resistance and the relay activates. The issue is that there are several combinations that will open the lock.

Is there a beginner way to achieve something like that with Arduino? Goal is that user needs to connect specific wire pairs in order the relay to activate.

I am just starting out with Arduino and any nudge to the right direction is greatly appreciated.

Thanks

I would use a port expander and have half the wires inputs and the others outputs. Then I would toggle the outputs and see if one and only the right one of the inputs toggles in sympathy.

You should distinguish valid from invalid connections. Valid connections are easy to check, there is only one set of values. Checking for invalid connections is a bit more complicated.

You can configure all connected pins as digital inputs. Then configure one pin as an output, and check which other connections are affected when you pull that pin high or low. Do that for all pins.

Five wires with random value resistors in series connected to +5volt.
Five wires with random value resistors in series connected to five analogue inputs and ground.

Only a good combination will give five exact analogue values.
Leo…

Erx27: I am building a kind of puzzle lock for "exit room". The lock works so that there are 10 bare wire ends and user needs to combine them into 5 pairs to open the electric lock. Red to green etc. Lock should not open when all the wires are connected in bunch nor for any other combination.