PWM and millis() for delay

Gentlemen,

I am a complete novice--actually I just began a few weeks ago, so please have mercy if I stumble. I have been reading pdfs on Arduino programming and acquired a Leonardo.

The problem I'm having with this sketch is as follows. Originally I had written a simple delay to offset analogWrite to pins 9 or 12, but then I discovered the benefits of using the millis() function. I changed the sketch accordingly, or so I thought. For testing purposes I have LEDs on pins 2, 6 and motors on pins 9, 12. Output of all pins are individually routed to it's own TIP120 transistor.

When it runs it alters the speed of the motor on pin 9 as expected, but I get a write delay when I change the value of pot1 that is equal to the value of pot2--precisely what I was trying to avoid by using millis() instead of delay{}.

Strange also is when pin 4 is HIGH, pot1 does not alter the speed of the motor attached to pin 12, except that when I dial it down about 1/4 the motor completely stops.

Apparently, I am not completely understanding the program flow. Can someone please provide some insight as to what is going on here?

const int kPinMotor1 = 2;

const int kPinMotor2 = 6;

const int kPinSpring1PWM = 9;

const int kPinSpring2PWM = 12;

const int kPinSwitch = 4;

void setup()

{

pinMode(kPinMotor1, OUTPUT);

pinMode(kPinMotor2, OUTPUT);

pinMode(kPinSpring1PWM, OUTPUT);

pinMode(kPinSpring2PWM, OUTPUT);

pinMode(A0, INPUT);

pinMode(kPinSwitch, INPUT_PULLUP);

}

void loop()

{

int potentioValue1 = analogRead(A0) / 4; // PWM value from 0 to 255

int potentioValue2 = analogRead(A5); // delay before writing to PWM value to pin

long currentTime = 0;

long startTime = 0;

int delay = potentioValue2;

if(digitalRead(kPinSwitch) == LOW){

currentTime = millis(); // start of button press

analogWrite(kPinSpring2PWM, 0);

digitalWrite(kPinMotor2, HIGH);

digitalWrite(kPinMotor1, LOW);

startTime = currentTime + delay; // beginning of writing to PWM pin