PWM control

Hi ! I am new to arduino, so I hope someone can help me. I want to create a pwm with a constant frequency of 50 kHz, I want to control the duty cycle with a algorithm. Basically the duty cycle starts with 50 % and the algorithm decides to increase or decrease the duty cycle, this continues. How can I easily implement this ?

thank you ! /David

Trivial.

fm: Trivial.

Well, that didnt help...

There are several Arduino boards. Which one are you using?

[quote author=Coding Badly link=topic=117784.msg886459#msg886459 date=1344448915]

There are several Arduino boards. Which one are you using?

[/quote]

I am using a arduino UNO board, (think its an ATmega328)

Sorry, I don’t know why, I read if it was easy to do… ;(

Anyway, you will have to configure one of the PWM pins that the Arduino board has as an output. Then you will have to use analogWrite ( yourPWMPin, <value> ); // Where value is a numerical value that defines your duty cycle between 0 and 255, where 255 your duty cycle is 0 with the output high, and 0 your duty clycle is 0 with the output low.

On an Arduino UNO, the PWM pins are: 3, 5, 6, 9, 10 and 11.

The other thing that you will have to do is to modify/configure the timers used to generate the PWM and setup the frequency you want. This is a bit more tricky, but there are several places that you can find some code snippets that will help you:
http://arduino.cc/playground/Code/PwmFrequency
and
http://arduino.cc/playground/Main/TimerPWMCheatsheet

You will be limitted to the frequency range you can use though and the examples are based on the ATMega328p.

Thanks for the info, however I dont want to cause trouble in the delay function, since I am gonna use it. Other suggestions ?

"Other suggestions ?" Don't use Delay. Use blink-without-delay code design instead, monitor millis() and once enough 'time' has passed then do your intended action.

Like I said, I am new to this so forgive me if I ask some trivial questions...