PWM Errors - Beginner

Hi there! I’m very new to C++ so I’ll probably make plenty of mistakes in my code.
So my goal is to create a arduino that will take the inputs of a Freematics OBDII UART adapter and use the rpm of the car to adjust the PWM duty cycle by 1 point for every 20 rpm the car climbs. For example, when rpm = 20 PWM = 1/255, rpm = 200 PWM = 10. I’ve given this a shot and have received errors, but I’m also having trouble with the libraries where as my friend is not. If anyone could lend a hand I would be greatly appreciative!

#include <Arduino.h>
#include <Wire.h>
#include <OBD.h>
COBD obd;

void setup() {
// put your setup code here, to run once:
//Below for PWM pin
pinMode(3, OUTPUT);
obd.begin();
while (!obd.init());
}

void loop(){
// put your main code here, to run repeatedly:
int value;
int ledPWM;
//the pwm for the LED’s should equal the rpm speed / 255 I think
ledPWM = value / 255;
//if the rpm (value) is enough to equal 255 (or 5100rpm) or more then cap value at 255 until it falls below
if (value <= 255)
value = 255;

if (obd.read(PID_RPM, value)) {
//Past this needs to be revised
analogWrite(3, value);

}
}

Hi,
Can you please post a copy of your sketch, using code tags?
They are made with the </> icon in the reply Menu.
See section 7 http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php/topic,148850.0.html

This will present it in a format that is easy to read.
What model Arduino are you using and what revision IDE?

Tom… :slight_smile:

And please post the COMPLETE error message as well; newer IDEs have a button to copy it so you can paste it here.

void loop(){
 int value;
 int ledPWM;
//the pwm for the LED's should equal the rpm speed / 255 I think
 ledPWM = value / 255;

You haven't assigned a value to "value", yet you divide it by 255.

Thanks for the replies, so I’m using the arduino Nano V4, This is the code in the code tags

#include <Arduino.h>
#include <Wire.h>
#include <OBD.h>
COBD obd;

void setup() {
 // put your setup code here, to run once: