PWM IDEA

Okay so im not an electrical engineer im mechanical with a IT degree. Im not a programming expert. Be kind and patient. Well i have an idea to control a motor but i want it to vary with a specific analog input. I am using a thermal couple two pin to control the duty cycle of the PWM. I think i get the math to get it right. If i need to compensate the temperature is two high i can edit the equation to give my desired voltage on the mosfet via duty cycle. Here is my current problem before i get into the math. Via serial and ive never done this and just yesterday began to read on arduino coding. Bare with me.
Can i get a read out of the analog thermal input so i can them modify my math. I need to get a sweet spot on the duty cycle. Whats is occurring is not exponential its like a flat curve. Im controlling a fan and the duty cycle either over does it or doesnt keep up with temperature.

1.Serial readout of analog input
2.Math

To elaborate i would like to understand maybe a IF statement would help. Anything from analogread below 256 makes analogwrite = 0 so 0 duty cycle. Anything 257-1023/3=min duty cycle of 25.2 to 133% (I know it cant go over 33 % but i havent figured out the exponential way to have it respond to a smaller area of the analog input looking like 255-400 out of the whole 1023)Id like the fan to conserve power below a critical point then step in varying with temp.

Sorry for the long write up trying to hit all birds with 1 stone

int ledPin = 9; // pwm to mosfet gate with resistor to ground connected to digital pin 9

int analogPin = 3; // thermal couple connected to analog pin 3

int val = 0; // variable to store the read value

void setup()

{

pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT); // sets the pin as output

}

void loop()

{

val = analogRead(analogPin); // read the input pin

analogWrite(ledPin, val / 3);