PWM pin to weak?

Hi there,

I'm new to Arduino but already am a web/app developer. But i have a qeustion i'm trying to spin a DC motor which works perfect with the 5v pin on my aduino uno. But i wanted to being enabled to slow the motor down using a PWM pin?

Somehow if i use PWM the power is not strong enough to power the DC motor anymore well i hear the sound but it's so weak? and with the 5v pin it works perfect???

This is my code:

int driveMotor = 11;

void setup() {
  // initialize digital pins as output.
  pinMode(driveMotor, OUTPUT);
}

// the loop function runs over and over again forever
void loop() {
  analogWrite(driveMotor, 255);
}

And i know i don't need to put analogWrite in the loop but i was trying to change it and so far as i know 255 is full power? but somehow its to weak???

The output pins on the Arduino are not powerful enough to drive a motor. You can damage the outputs doing this.

That's correct. A Arduino IO pin can only supply 40mA at best. To low for a motor and can even damage the Arduino. The 5V pin is not a IO pin, it's simply the power supply.

So google "Arduino motor" ;)

aarg: The output pins on the Arduino are not powerful enough to drive a motor. You can damage the outputs doing this.

septillion: That's correct. A Arduino IO pin can only supply 40mA at best. To low for a motor and can even damage the Arduino. The 5V pin is not a IO pin, it's simply the power supply.

So google "Arduino motor" ;)

OMG, thanks guys.

Well i also have a motor shield i think i need to use that but i can't find a clear tutorial over how to set-up 1 motor and is this a solution for my problem?

EDIT: Another question can i connect a 7.4/7.9V accu to the arduino uno?(red/black wire)

What is an accu? accu?

Or would this help more? http://www.pighixxx.com/test/portfolio-items/connect-a-dc-motor/?portfolioID=610

aarg: What is an accu?

battery* sorry.

SynteX: battery* sorry.