PWM regulation outs...

Hi everyone, at 1st - sorry for a may be stupid question (for most of yours) I am a Arduino beginner without any experiences with programming anyway I have a lot of experiences with HW. Now I looking for a wery simple solution for a home LEDs ligting regulation (ON/Off/Dimming and more in future - of corse :-) ) I was ordered Arduino UNO R3 and now I need to found software solution to control PWM outs. My idea is control PWM out by using two Digital Inputs (UP/DWN buttons)

Practice run: System status - PWM out at 0% Pressing UP button PWM out will smoothly increasing value of PWM level releasing UP button PWM out will stay on last level (for example on 65% ) Pressing DWN button PWM out will smoothly deceasing value of PWM level releasing DWN button PWM out will stay on last level (for example on 25% )

Conditions: No of PWM steps levels: aprox 50 to 250 steps (more is better for smooth dimming - are not vissible dim steps in lowest light levels ) The speed of change output PWM level increasing/decreasing from 0% to 100% - cca 10sec.

If anybody can help me with SW program solution - I will be happy. Many THX for appropriate help and sorry for my english

Nice day

Hi! Here is a basic code based on what you want. You can add more stuff like switch debouncing. Here are some links you can refer as well:

int brightness = 50;    // how bright the LED is

void setup()  { 
  // declare pin 9 to be an output:
  pinMode(9, OUTPUT);
  // declare pin 2(up) & 3(down) to be an output:
  pinMode(2, INPUT);
  pinMode(3, INPUT);
} 

void loop()  { 
  if(brightness<256)
    brightness+=digitalRead(2);    //increase brightness level by 1 if up is pressed else do nothing
  if(brightness>50)
    brightness-=digitalRead(3);    //decrease brightness level by 1 if down is pressed else do nothing

// set the brightness of pin 9:
  analogWrite(9, brightness);    
}

Antzy:

if(brightness<256)