PWM Signal Noise on GND

I am working on a project that has a motor and a fan. This is my first time using a DC motor vs a Servo so I went online and found a motor driver circuit that seemed like it should work.

And it does…mostly. My version of the circuit is attached. The motor turns well, I am able to control the speed with different PWM signals, etc. However, I have been experiencing weird issues with my circuit where the ATMega328P resets randomly, or freezes on a line of code, or the motor or fan will latch on even when the code moves past where they should turn off.

Here is my motor control code:

if ((tnow - tlast) >= motorInterval) {
      Serial.println("motor on");
      analogWrite(motorPin, 150);
      Serial.println("Motor 100");
      delay(1000);
      analogWrite(motorPin, 100);
      Serial.println("Motor 150");
      delay(1000);
      analogWrite(motorPin, 50);
      Serial.println("Motor 50");
      delay(1000);
      digitalWrite(motorPin, LOW);
      Serial.println("motor off");
      tlast = millis();
      motorCheck = true;
    }

When it freezes, it stops after printing “Motor 150” or “Motor 100”

I have a feeling that the problem is related to the fact that I can see the PWM signal on the ground line when probing with an oscilloscope. I can see on ground exactly when the fan comes on (very small wave visible) and when the motor comes on (distinguishable PWM signals ~20mV amplitude).

I have triple checked that all my grounds are connected. I am at a loss as to what else to try. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

Please post all the code, describe your motor power supply and post a link to the motor, or to its data sheet.

The 10K resistor should be connected from the Arduino pin to ground, not from the MOSFET gate to ground.

pyfi:
I am working on a project that has a motor and a fan. This is my first time using a DC motor vs a Servo so I went online and found a motor driver circuit that seemed like it should work.