PWM Sine Wave

Hi all, I am completely new to arduino. For a 3rd year Mechanical Engineering project I have been asked to create an arduino control system for a single axis shaking table.

I want to use a low pass filter to convert the PWM output of the arduino board to an analogue signal to then input into the analogue to PWM converter inbuilt in the pre-existing actuator (the rig itself is many years old). Removing the analogue to PWM converter from the actuator for the shaking table doesn’t seem feasible at this point.

What I would like to know is how I can get the arduino to implement a sine wave in PWM and record it to a file I can open in Matlab/Simulink. This I hope would allow me to run simulations and determine the best RC values for the filter.

Thanks in advance R

What I would like to know is how I can get the arduino to implement a sine wave in PWM

You can't. PWM is performed by turning a pin on and off many times per second. The ratio of on/off time can be changed, but the on voltage and off voltages are fixed. PWM output, then, is a square wave.

Thanks very much.
Once i have created a repeating square wave how do I record it to a file on a computer? Do I need any special kit?
Thanks again

Once i have created a repeating square wave how do I record it to a file on a computer?

This doesn't make sense. The only way for the Arduino to send data to a computer is via the serial port, as bytes. A byte contains a value between 0 and 255. The PWM value is either off or on, but that changes far faster than the Arduino can send a 0 or a 1 to another computer.

A little googling of low pass filter should reveal that a low pass filter is composed of resistors and capacitors in very small quantities. Choosing the correct size resistors and capacitors is not rocket science.