pwm switch

Hi to all,
I am sad to say a code copy and paste er. I fly quad copters and only know the basics about programming arduino. I am an IF and THEN programmer with a jump to label type of programmer to say.
I want to program LED's and purchased some neopixels. There is some code out there I may be able to use but I want to do this, I want to use a pwm channel on my remote to switch different colors and patterns using a pwm signal. my taranis has a 6 position switch I want to use for selection of patterns. Basicly IF pwm signal is 1000 TO 1200 THEN flash lights this way . IF pwm signal is 1201 to 1300 THEN make all lights orange. IF pwm is 1301 to 1400 then turn all lights to chase .ect. ect. ect.
Maybe even assighn another channel for speed of a chase . how would I do such a thing in arduino? is there maybe a book for beginers to get me there. I am building a UFO quad copter 4 foot round and this is the biggest part of the build. I did flash my mega and start a sample program but that's it, I guess I am a flasher looking into crossing over to get arduino to work for me with the neopixels. any help is always greatly appreciated.

My code would basically come from the neopixel strand test if that helps. I plan on using that as a starting point and ad on from there.

IMHO…

this isnt beginner stuff… (not advanced…but not beginner either… I guess medium experience)

The Neopixels require specific timing to run properly… (this is all handled for you in the library, so no worries)…

however… this does leave the processor pretty busy running/driving the Neopixel strip(s)…

In order to leave/make ‘room’ for the processor to check for other things (like a button press)… you’ll need to code your neopixel patterns/animations in a certain way…

(I think there is an advanced Neopixel tutorial on the Adafruit site that outlines this as well)

So basically instead of having the Neopixel animation/pattern be stuck in an updating ‘loop’…