QC1602A (v2.0) Contrast not working?

Hi,

i just started playing around with components.
Im following this guide to use my LCD with an Arduino UNO: http://www.dreamdealer.nl/tutorials/connecting_a_1602a_lcd_display_and_a_light_sensor_to_arduino_uno.html

To the point where i wired the LCD and got the backlight on everything seems ok.

After i wired the potentiometer as shown(mine is 50K), trying to operate it doesn’t result in any change on the screen, i dont see any of those black square.

I did search in google without luck- I tried through code to change the contrast with analogWrite as shown here: http://engineeringlearning.blogspot.fi/2013/10/interfacing-lcd-without-potentiometer.html but no change.

Can it be that something is wrong with the LCD?

Any suggestion is appreciaated. :blush:

Thanks

Some breadboards have a break at the center of the horizontal bus bars that you are using for +5V and GND. Typically those breadboards also have a break in the blue and red lines painted next to those buses but you never can tell.

If you don't have a voltmeter to check things out then just connect the potentiometer feeds left of the center of those buses and see what happens.

Don

It is difficult to make out but I cannot see solder on the connections of the LCD.

Apparently you are using pin headers to connect the LCD into the breadboard. Surely you are not just resting the LCD module on the pin headers and expecting them to contact? And are they actually firmly located in the breadboard?

A 50k potentiometer is a somewhat high value but should provide contrast turned to the ground end. In fact, you should get contrast with pin 3 connected straight to ground - pin 1 - when using a 5V supply.

Clorofilla: I tried through code to change the contrast with analogWrite as shown here: http://engineeringlearning.blogspot.fi/2013/10/interfacing-lcd-without-potentiometer.html but no change.