QlockTwo remake

Remake of the QlockTwo by Biegert & Funk. Using an Arduino Mega Clone + DCF77 module to get the time. No buttons needed, just plugin and wait a minute or 2 and it will set the time for you.

This is my first project using an Arduino, or any electronics for that matter.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/ruudburger/sets/72157622708125775/

It looks great. How did you cut the letters in the acrylic?

The letters are cut out of the vinyl sticker thats on the back of the acrylic.

Did you cut them yourself and if you did, what method did you use to do such a nice job.

It looks very well made. Congratulations.

I would love to see more build photos if you have them and the code you’re using.

At first I had no idea what it did. For anyone else out there also unsure this is the site for the original: http://www.qlocktwo.com/

Nice, I will now make one :slight_smile:

Off to the laser cutter I go!

Mowcius

That looks great! :o I have been dreaming of building one of these since I first saw the original. I dreamed harder after seeing this instructable build using a self etched pcb board for the display.

Have you room for one more Mowcius? ;)

Yeah sure...

Once I get my [u]website[/u] up and running then I may sell fronts for them :D

I am not starting the project yet, got rather a lot of other stuff to do currently.

Who else would be interested in a laser cut front for one? :D

Mowcius

I would if they don’t cost too much

Price will depend on the size, I will get back to you on that, probably about £20 (currently about $30 USD) for a square, with mounting holes and all letters laser cut, about 8" sq (21cm for you metric guys :D)

Mowcius

How is the laser cutting involved in here? What do you actually cut? The vinyl sticker?

How is the laser cutting involved in here? What do you actually cut? The vinyl sticker?