Quadcopter

I’ve recently got an arduino uno board. Although I’ve never used an arduino board before, I’m fairly confident in my abilities; I have a raspberry pi and I’m a fairly competent programmer, so let’s assume that wouldn’t be an issue in considering the feasibility of the following project:

I’d like to build a quadcopter, controllable via a bluetooth adapter with my laptop.
I’d have the bluetooth board for sending commands (like roll, yaw etc.)
I’d have a motion sensor board for detecting what it’s doing:
http://www.coolcomponents.co.uk/9-degrees-of-freedom-mpu-9150-breakout.html?gclid=CJbG2uy4tb4CFc6WtAodeXcA6A#.
And, of course, I’d have an arduino board.

Having scratched the surface in terms of research, I’ve found people generally make their main concern the construction of the frame and the skill of flying. To me, this seems a bit of a cop out!

My plan is to use a LiPo battery pack to power the hardware. I’d use the sensor board as part of a negative feedback system, and I would control the motors using an exceedingly simple circuit (involving MOSFETs) in order to control motor speeds with the PWM pins. The original aim is to just get it hovering nicely, and then I can get it doing some more fancy stuff :slight_smile:

What are people’s thoughts? Has anyone tried this before? Is there anything I likely haven’t considered in my assuming I’m a competent programmer? :stuck_out_tongue:

You're crazy to even think about using Bluetooth. You're going to get someone killed.

What are people's thoughts? Has anyone tried this before? Is there anything I likely haven't considered in my assuming I'm a competent programmer? smiley-razz

I think you are vastly underestimating the difficulty of such a project. Designing,building and driving your own speed controllers is particularly ambitious even if possible on an arduino with all the other stuff you want accomplished.

You best bet is to check out some of the quad web sites and utilize proven designs.