Quadcopters

Hi! I am very new to this, but I am very interested in building my own quadcopter. One of the main issues that I've run into is finding the right flight controller. What I want to do is hook up an ultrasonic positioning system to a quad so that it can determine its location relative to other objects. I had heard that many people use Arduino boards to program their quads, and wondered how viable of an option that might be. Could one of the boards integrate all of the systems of a quad, including outside applications/parts? Budget isn't of high issue right now until I determine exactly which board might fit my needs, so I'm curious on my options. Thanks everyone for your help!

Could one of the boards integrate all of the systems of a quad, including outside applications/parts?

Yes. Use Google to search for ArduPilot Mega.

Thanks! So would that be the program that I would upload to an Arduino board? In that case, what board would you recommend?

what board would you recommend?

The clue is in the name.

ihall:
Thanks! So would that be the program that I would upload to an Arduino board? In that case, what board would you recommend?

If you would actually take your lazy ass to google and look the thing up I think you'd see real quick.

ihall:

Did you use google and look the thing up? I think that answer becomes pretty obvious at that point.

I tried adding an ultrasound sensor to a small quadcopter but the small motors produced too much noise for the sensor to work. I don't know if you'd have the same problem with larger motors but it's something to be aware of.

HobbyKings sells all sorts of inexpensive quadcopters and quadcopter control boards.

David W. (the guy from Sweden on Testflite) like the KK2 board.

I have one of these MultiWii boards which has a spot for connecting Spektrum satellite receivers. The Spektrum system sends serial commands and it's possible to receive these commands rather than pulses from the receiver.

DuaneDegn: