Queries about Arduino+Stepper Motor+L298N

Greetings!

I am fairly new to the world of electronics, so please bear with me if my questions seem a little mundane.

I am working on a project to develop an Arduino based, 2-axis, laser cutting machine, to cut profiles from balsa wood (and similar materials) of thickness <3mm. The idea is to achieve the cutting action using a laser diode(currently experimenting using a 500mW diode, will welcome any guidance in this matter), and the controlled movement of the laser diode using 2 stepper motors (one for each axis).

I am using an Arduino Uno Atmega328f, L298N Motor Driver, 17HS1538-P4170(which I got off Banggood) stepper motor(s).

Due to my inexperience with this, I decided to start by learning to control one stepper motor using the Arduino. The objective was to implement the stepper_oneRevolution sketch, for one revolution cw and one ccw.

I’ve identified the coils of the stepper motor by shorting two coils at a time and identifying which combinations increase the resistance of the motor shaft. With the shaft protruding upwards, from left to right, I’m assuming the “terminals” are A+, A-, B+, B- respectively. A+, A-, B+, B- are connected to OUT1, OUT2, OUT3 and OUT4 on the L298N. IN1, IN2, IN3 and IN4 are connected to pins 8,9,10,11 on the Arduino respectively.

1. I’m powering the motor using 12V, 1.5A DC from a wall adapter. I’ve removed the 5V_EN jumper on the L298N. I connected the +ve wire of the adapter to the +12V of the L298N, the -ve wire of the adapter to the GND of the L298N as well as the Arduino. Since the 5V_EN jumper is not in place, I connected the 5V output of the Arduino to the 5V input of the L298N. I powered the Arduino using USB from my laptop, uploaded the sketch, connected the 12V wall adapter to the socket and switched it on.
    The motor spins erratically, both cw and ccw. I can feel slight charges/ shock as I run my fingers across the laptop body.