Query on which Arudino board for safety gate alarm

Hi everyone.

Here's my first post ever here. Nice to virtually meet you all :slight_smile:

A little relevant background on myself. I have a Degree in Electronics & Computer Engineering from about 16 years ago. I've worked as a Software Developer almost all the time since then. Hardware knowledge is basic as a result :smiley: But I do have a reasonable concept of hardware principles. I still have my soldering iron and can still solder when needed. I've done the odd hardware project including a Raiden costume for Halloween a few years ago. For that project, I used an Arduino Mega wired to some Adafruit digital LED strips (Overview | RGB LED Strips | Adafruit Learning System) to get a lightning effect. It worked out well (even if I say so myself) though the wiring was a spaghetti mess under my costume :smiley:

Anyway, I now want to create a safety system for home. From time to time, someone in the house forgets the safety gate at the top or bottom of the stairs open. This is concerning obviously. I was thinking that we could make a small project that could detect when the gate was open and sound an alarm and flash an LED.

What I'm wondering is what Arduino board would I need? And maybe some direction at the LED and speaker to use? For the Raiden project, I learned that I would need the Mega as only it had enough memory to be able to store the code library required to control the digital LED strips. This time, I'm thinking the requirements are simpler so maybe I wouldn't need as much memory? Something small would be nice so that it's not in the way. But as long as it would have the specs to be able to control and power a speaker that is loud enough and an LED.

Any and all help and guidance very much appreciated in advance :slight_smile: Thanks.

So the only requirements are to sense to state of the gate and control an LED and emit a sound through a speaker?

How will the device be powered?