Question abount Arduino gesture sensor

Hello,

I am a beginner in Arduinos and I hope someone can help me out.

I have a Sparkfun Gesture Sensor which can read movement (left, right, up and down). I want to create a project, something like this:

Rule1 - When the sensor detects 3 "left" moves within 5 seconds, it will set LED1 to high Rule2 - When the sensor detects 2 "right" moves within 5 seconds, it will set LED2 to high Rule3 - When the sensor detects 2 "up" and then 2 "down" moves within 5 seconds, it will set LED3 to high

I also want that Rule 2 will become available only when Rule 1 is finished, and rules 3 will only become available when Rule 2 is finished.

In the example code with this sensor I see switch/ case statements, but I really don't know how I can use these for my above wishes ;) I am not sure if this is possible but I hope someone can push me in the right direction.

Thanks a lot! Mark

Make a circular buffer with each gesture stored as it is made along with a time stamp from the millis counter. Then look at he buffer to see if any of your conditions have been met.

Hi Grumpy_Mike,

Thanks for the answer. Can you help me along with circular buffers? And how te store the gesture?

For now I just played a little with some sensor, and never heard of circular buffers. Are there any manuals online to help me out?

Can you help me along with circular buffers?

Google is your friend https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Circular_buffer

And how te store the gesture?

Your sensor gives you results in the form of numbers. Store those numbers in memory as a variable.

I bought the Sparkfun gestore sensor, this one: https://www.sparkfun.com/products/12787

I uploaded the code to my arduino and tested it via the serial port. Al the 6 movements (left, right, far, near, up and down) are recognized and working. When I open the serial port, I see the corresponding lines...right, left, far, near, up and down. So far, so good.