Question about an art project

I'm trying to make an interactive sculpture and I'm wondering if using Arduino is the way to approach it. I need to have an air pump that is activated by a motion sensor. When the sensor is activated I need the pump to inflate for 10 seconds and then stop. Has anybody done something like this in the past? Do you have any advice? I have no experience with engineering of any kind, any comments would be greatly appreciated.

What are you inflating? This would determine what pump you need which would determine what circuit you need.

I made a balloon of sorts. It's a sheet of dragon skin rubber with a plexiglass backing so only one side inflates. I have a small air pump from walmart (used for inflating pool toys) that works just fine.

briannab:
I made a balloon of sorts. It’s a sheet of dragon skin rubber with a plexiglass backing so only one side inflates. I have a small air pump from walmart (used for inflating pool toys) that works just fine.

What are the pump’s specs? ie Voltage, current. Is it a DC pump, or mains AC?

A little searching and reading will soon teach you how to connect and read a movement sensor, and also how to make a digital pin high for 10 seconds, so all that remains is the interface between the Arduino and the pump.

How will the object be deflated?
Another point, I guess you’ll need to ensure that the pump can’t be activated more than once without deflation between times.

120v .95a
It's AC

You'll need a relay, relay module or solid-state relay to switch mains voltage with an Arduino. A solid-state relay would be the most convenient, but also the most expensive.
How do you plan to power the Arduino? Battery? Wall-wart?

Have you put any thought into avoiding over-inflation, as I mentioned? (You didn't address the other points that I raised.)