Question about delays within a function and the main loop

Hi all,

I have what I'm assuming is a very basic question. I'm new to arduinos though and unfortunately due to covid and holiday break I'm unable to test this out myself for a couple of weeks, so was hoping the forums could help me.

I have the following code (copied below), the idea is that I have a sensor and a solenoid pump (so it works as a valve) hooked up to one arduino. I would like to read from the sensor as quickly as possible (i.e. at the shortest loop time), while also being able to trigger the solenoid without it holding up the loop.

My question is, because solenoid() contains a delay, will the loop get held up until solenoid() is completed, meaning I will only read from the sensor once every ~3 seconds? In C# I'd typically resolve this problem using a coroutine or multithreading depending on circumstance, but as I'm still new to arduino I am not sure what is possible with this device and how I'd go about it, if I even need to.

Here is the code. At the moment, it is meant to just read from the sensor continuously, and also send a signal to the solenoid every 3s to pump fluid through it.

int sensorPin = A0; 

int sensorValue = 0;
// int counter = 0;

void setup() {
  pinMode(5, OUTPUT); // output for solenoid
  Serial.begin(57600);
}

void loop() {
  sensorValue = analogRead(sensorPin); // reads sensor
  Serial.println(sensorValue);

solenoid();    
}

void solenoid(){
    digitalWrite(5, HIGH);
    delay(250);
    digitalWrite(5, LOW);
    delay(2750);
}

Yes delay() locks everything up.

-jim lee

Take a look at Using millis() for timing. A beginners guide, Several things at the same time and the BlinkWithoutDelay example in the IDE

You can make it easy by using ezOutput library

it will be simple as below without using delay:

solenoid.blink(250, 2750); // 250 milliseconds ON, 2750 milliseconds OFF

You can take a look to this example