Question about phototransistor and resistors (Arduino projects book from Amazon)

Hey I'm new to electronics and working my way through an Arduino projects book from Amazon. In the latest project I did, three photo transistors are wired up with red, blue, and green gels over them to detect the red, blue, and green light. Then values are output to an LED to mix the values. I get the code and most of the electronics. However, at one point the book says:

on the other side [of each photoresistor], attach a 10 kilohm resistor to ground. This resistors is in series with the phototransistor. The phototransistor will force a current to flow in the resistor leading to a voltage drop across it. On the same side as the resistor, connect the phototransistor to Analog in pins 0, 1, and 2...

My question is why does there have to be a 10 kilohm resistor (or any resistor) between the phototransistor and ground? Why can't we run the phototransistor straight to ground? The way it's written says to me that the resistor is what is somehow helping the phototransistor vary the voltage? TIA.

To get a voltage drop, you need a current flowing thru a resistor.

The transistor is like a switch, it is On or Off.

When On, current from 5v flows thru the transistor, thru the resistor then to GND.

This creates a voltage drop of 5v across the 10k which your analog input is looking for.

When the transistor is Off there is no current flow, therefore no voltage across the 10k resistor.

larryd:
To get a voltage drop, you need a current flowing thru a resistor.

The transistor is like a switch, it is On or Off.

When On, current from 5v flows thru the transistor, thru the resistor then to GND.

This creates a voltage drop of 5v across the 10k which your analog input is looking for.

When the transistor is Off there is no current flow, therefore no voltage across the 10k resistor.