Question about shift registers and neopixels

Short version with just the question:
Since neopixels have shift registers built in(if I understand correctly), is it be possible to connect a neopixel to the serial out of a shift register or does it have to be added as an output of the shift register?

Long version with the intended application and reason I am trying to use serial out rather than an I/O:
I am trying to create an application using an arduino to control up to 15-20 "devices". The goal is to create a DIY kit to manage a queue. Each device will consist of a button(tact switch button), 2 digit 7 segment LED's(TOS-5161AS-B), and a RGB led(Flora RGB Smart NeoPixel is what I am thinking). I am new to using arduino's and have novice skills in programming languages.

Based on my understanding, this would require the following out of the arduino for each "device":

• 5v
  • ground
  • 1 input from switch
  • 8 outputs per 7 segment for 7(16 total)
  • 1 output for neopixel

Total: 20 "connections" to the arduino with 18 I/O's used per device

If I use 2 shift registers(74HC595) it appears I can reduce the number of outputs from 16 for the 7-segments to 3. This leaves me with the following per device:

• 5v
  • ground
  • 1 input from switch
  • 3 outputs for 7 segments
  • 1 output for neopixel

Total: 7 "connections" to the arduino with 5 I/O's used per device

At this point, from my understanding, I could use something like an RJ45(since it has 8 pins) cable to connect each device and "connection" to the arduino. But, I would love to cut 1 more I/O from the arduino if I could and potentially use RJ11 instead of RJ45 to save space and make "stringing" each device to the arduino easier with a thinner cable.

If what I wrote so far is wrong, then the question doesn't matter. Please correct me if my understanding is incorrect so far :slight_smile: