Question about testing shields

I am pretty new to Arduino so I have a lot of gaps in my understanding. I have 2 shields currently on my Mega R3, and I was able to test each individually and have verified functionality. However, when I put them onto the Mega, I am a little lost as to what is needed in code to do more tests.

My shields that I will be using now consist of an Ethernet Shield and a Data Logging/RTC shield. I am now trying to form a sketch that will trigger an OUTPUT to high at a specific time, but am getting errors when I upload a sketch.

My question is; Since I have the Ethernet Shield in the stack, but am not focusing my sketch on using the Ethernet Shield just yet, do I need to #include it in my declarations so that I can successfully upload a timer sketch?

The first phase of my project will be the Mega connected via cat5 and passive POE. In the circuit will be an 8 channel relay board and 2 DHT sensors. So I'd like the ability to view the sensor data over a network, and also program 4 of the 8 channels to be cycled on at specific times for specific durations, and possibly cycle at least one of the remaining relay channels based upon variables collected from the DHT sensor. I expect it to be a while before I tackle all of that, but for right now I am focusing getting a time stamp in the serial monitor to trigger LEDs from an output, as I understand that lighting the LED will represent the relay channel when I get my sketch functioning properly.

myggle: Ethernet Shield and a Data Logging/RTC shield.

If you want to keep it as a secret which shield products you are actually talking about, it will most likely stay a secret if they might be compatible or not for stacking, too.

This might be your "Ethernet-Shield".

But I'm unable to guess the "data logging shield".

, but am getting errors when I upload a sketch.

Sharing the content of the errors helps us to help you fix them.