Question: can I use arduino as a current source?

Hello,

Sorry for sounding like a complete newbie (but I am). I've just discovered arduino through google. Can I use it as a constant current source?

Basically what I want it to do: supply an (dc) output of x miliamps. It would be directed/connected to a sheet of a semiconductor.

And the other side of the sheet would be measured and recorded(also by arduino)for the voltage drop.

Now the second part (V) is not so critical, I can just use and external multimeter, but can I use arduino the way I want for the current source. If so, I've read it can only output as much as 20-40 miliAmps. If I wanted to go higher, say 500 miliamp and higher, can Arduino do that? If not, are there any similar alternatives?

Thanks

The absolute max for an Arduino I/O pin is 40mA and I reckon 20mA would be a wiser upper limit.

If you require a higher current you need an external power supply and perhaps use the Arduino to switch it on and off with a small transistor.

You need to tell us exactly what semiconductor you want to use and post a link to its datasheet.

...R

Robin2:
The absolute max for an Arduino I/O pin is 40mA and I reckon 20mA would be a wiser upper limit.

If you require a higher current you need an external power supply and perhaps use the Arduino to switch it on and off with a small transistor.

You need to tell us exactly what semiconductor you want to use and post a link to its datasheet.

...R

Perhaps I should have been more clear with how things will go. I want to use arduino>point probes for sourcing the current. The tip of the probe will be put on silver paste> which is on a thin graphene film> which is deposited on a PET/PE polymer slide. There is no data sheet as the film is homemade. So this set-up (or idea of) is specifically for measuring the sheet resistances without having to invest in expensive sourcemeters.

Some more questions: