Question for arduino posibilities

Hello all, I am an experienced developer with C++ and other languages. Moreover, while I was in the university I had done small HW projects with VHDL.. Now I would like to start making a small project just for my house, and for fun. To be more specific, I would like to make a controll system, that will use a remote control, 3-4 sensors, and 3-4 switches that will enable and disable some motors. I need the control system of this device to stand up indepedenly (without the need to be connected to a pc). Could you please provide advice on which arduino chip to use? And whatelse I need to buy? I just need some hints about this from someone experienced.. Just the hints for the procedure (for example: "you need to buy arduino uno, then download the arduino code, buy the sensors you need, the switches and the remote control, write the code for the algorithm, etc). If there is anyone who is experienced and would like to help (even with per hour payment) dont hesitate to ask me...

Kerville7: for example: "you need to buy arduino uno, then download the arduino code, buy the sensors you need, the switches and the remote control, write the code for the algorithm, etc

Spot on. You could use the Leonardo instead of the Uno if you like it costs less and has a few more I/O pins. You only need a Mega if you need more pins than the Uno or Leonardo has, and it sounds to me that your project doesn't need that many pins (and in any case, there are ways of multiplexing and expanding i/o pins). When you've bought your Arduino, try out the blink-without-delay sketch and then generalise it to blink two LEDs at different rates, e.g. three and five times a second. Then you will have the basics of writing code to do several things at once.

Kerville7: If there is anyone who is experienced and would like to help (even with per hour payment) dont hesitate to ask me...